Crayons…

Crayons

Saturday morning…and much too early, but Aashir proclaimed this as “Mommy and Daddy Day” as he climbed into our bed….on Mommy’s side, of course.  And so, the day begins….crayons….cartoons…coffee… The latter is for me.

I wish I could write it, but I cannot.  His pronunciation of the word “crayon.”  To capture it in letters….impossible.  I can, however, capture his beautiful pictures… struggling to stay neatly between the lines…carefully…bearing down.  He reaches back into his box of colors often…. pulling out a variety… wred…gween…lellow…. His creations are typically people…. Baker… Belle… Mommy…. Spiderman…

…and I look at him…his beautiful dark eyes… caramel hair… fantastic eye lashes and lips… his skin… mixed baby…dominant Indian features.  the physical characteristics of a beautiful Mommy… the colors… the crayons…

Sitting near him…fumbling with a crayon that he has handed me…the crayon of his choice… I have to look between the lines… beneath the colors.. This, too, I pray…. that he has inherited her heart…and soul… and faith… for I have never known another…. like her…

Leave a Reply

